This website is no longer live

As part of the changes to the NHS brought about by the Health and Social Care Act 2012, Primary Care Trusts (PCTs) and Strategic Health Authorities (SHAs) ceased to exist on 31 March 2011. Their responsibilities were taken over by Clinical Commissioning Groups and the NHS Trust Development Authority.

For more details please see: or click on the links below. 

NHS Commissioning Board

At the heart of the new health and care system making sure that NHS services deliver the best possible care for patients

Department of Health 

Sets objectives and budgets and holds the system to account on behalf of the Secretary of State.

Trust Development Authority 

Supporting NHS trusts to secure sustainable, high quality services for the patients and communities it serves.

Local information 

Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs)

Made up of local GPs, nurses and other professionals are responsible for commissioning services for local communities. 

For more information click here. CCG Websites

Commissioning Support Units (CSUs)

Provide professional advice and support to CCGs and other customers.


Public Heath England 

Provides public health leadership and expertise, and works to improve the nation’s health and wellbeing, and to reduce health inequalities. 

Health Education England 

Responsible for the education, training and development of the healthcare workforce.

NHS Choices 

Provides information on conditions, treatments, local services and healthy living.